Thursday, August 25, 2011




Some by meditation behold the Supreme Spirit in the heart with the help of their refined and sharp intellect. Others realise it through the discipline of knowledge, and others, again through the discipline of action. These are the path to know- realise God and attain Mukthi. Hence Dhyana Yoga, Karma Yoga and Sankhya Yoga are the three principle upathi to know- realise and - attain God.

Meditation of the absolute, formless “Brahma”, viewed as identical with one’s self and the realisation of God as identical with one’s self. This is one of the ways to know God- the ultimate truth. This method is also can be called as Devotion/Bakthi etc.

Performing all of one’s prescribed duties according to the spiritual injunctions in a dis-interested spirit and renouncing all attachment and reward is the second upathi. In the end this practicant who aims at unity with God; maintaining one’s own identity apart from God-realises “Brahma” as his own self.

One can realise the absolute formless “Brahma”, who is truth, consciousness and Bliss solidified as identical with one ’s self. In the discipline of knowledge realising that the material objects are nothing but illusion, the follower of the path of knowledge gives up the sense of doer-ship in respect of all activities of the mind ,senses, and the body and ever established in identity with the all-pervading God. The follower of this path refuses to recognise the separate existence of anything else other than God.

This is also referred to as “ Sankhya Yoga”. This can be practiced only by qualified soul, who is endowed with the following four specific equipment

1. Viveka or Discrimination
2. Vairagya – Dispassion
3. Sat- sampathi or Six fold riches
4. Mumukshatwa- The quest for Freedom-liberation.

VIVEKA:- Discrimination between real and the unreal , the eternal and the fleeting. This consummation of Viveka is attained by constantly sifting the self from non-self under all circumstances and in every object.
VAIRAGYA: -(Mental detachment- Dispassion)- When discrimination is complete –awakening of dispassion follows; that is called Vairagya. “Raaga” or attachment is totally absent in dispassion.
SAT-SAMPATHI ( SIXFOLD RICHES):- After discrimination and dispassion the practicant comes to acquire the following six fold riches of highest value.

A. SAMA:- Complete subjugation-surrender-quiet and stillness of the mind.
B. DAMA:- Complete mastery over senses and their finding no relish in the objects of enjoyment.
C. UPARATI:- Withdrawal of mind from all worldly objects.
D. TITIKSHA:- In the face of ‘dwandvas’- ( dual things of opposite)( such as heat/cold; pleasure/pain; honor/ignonimity) maintaining one’s balance of mind.
E. SRADHA:- Unceasing faith in the existence of the self – as in something directly perceived .
F. SAMADHANA:- Total absorption of the mind and intellect in the God.

MUMUKSHATWA – (LIBERATION) :- After attaining Viveka, Vairagya, and Sat- Sampathi one naturally seeks absolute freedom from the bondage of ignorance and withdrawing his mind from everything else.

Acknowledgement: Information taken from TATTVAVIVECANI-English commentary relating to Srimad Bhagavad Gita- Gita Press Gorakhpur Publications. 25th August, 2011.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?